2021 republic day chief guest in india

List of Chief vacationers on Indian Republic Day Parades (1950–2021)

British Prime Minister Boris Johnson has approved India’s invitation to be the Chief Guest in the 2021 Republic Day.  Pakistan’s Governor General Malik Ghulam Muhammad was the very primary man that attended the Republic Day parade as the Chief Guest in Rajpath, New Delhi

For this, British PM Boris Johnson becomes the first PM of the UK because John Major in 1993 along with the sixth PM in the UK are the Guest of Honor at the event.  India has hailed his existence at Republic Day since “emblematic of a new age, a new stage of our relationship“.

Additionally, the UK will be the only nation whose leaders are Chief Guests at Republic Day on six events.

Ever since that time, India being the Democratic Republic observes a grand service annually to commemorate Republic Day, and also a Australian Leader is encouraged each year from the  Indian authorities.

Nevertheless, the very first celebration was held in Rajpath in 1955.  

 Agents from the UK and France have been encouraged 5 times each.

The Way Chief Guest is preferred for India’s Republic Day? 

The Chief Guest in India’s Republic Day parade is accorded the nation’s highest honor in routine provisions but do you understand the way the Republic Day Chief Guest is selected?

Six months before Republic Day, the Government sends the invitation to the Head of State or the Government exposed to the kind of connection India has together with the concerned state.

Before sending the invitation, the acceptance of the Indian Prime Minister is hunted along with the clearance in the President of India.

Let us take a look at the listing of all of the Chief vacationers in the Republic day parade;


Year Guest Name Country
1950 President Sukarno Indonesia
1951 King Tribhuvan Bir Bikram Shah  Nepal
1952 No invitation  —
1953 No invitation  —
1954 King Jigme Dorji Wangchuck Bhutan
1955 Governor-General Malik Ghulam Muhammad Pakistan
1956 Chancellor of the Exchequer R. A. Butler

Chief Justice Kotaro Tanaka

 United Kingdom


1957 Minister of Defence Georgy Zhukov  Soviet Union
1958 Marshall Ye Jianying China
1959 Duke of Edinburgh Prince Philip  United Kingdom
1960 President Kliment Voroshilov USSR
1961 Queen Elizabeth II United Kingdom
1962 Prime Minister Viggo Kampmann  Denmark
1963 King Norodom Sihanouk Cambodia
1964 Chief of Defence Staff Lord Louis Mountbatten  United Kingdom
1965 Food and Agriculture Minister Rana Abdul Hamid Pakistan
1966 No invitation  No invitation
1967 King Mohammed Zahir Shah  Afghanistan
1968 Prime Minister Alexei Kosygin USSR
President Josip Broz Tito SFR Yugoslavia
1969 Prime Minister of Bulgaria Todor Zhivkov Bulgaria
1970 King of the Belgians Baudouin  Belgium
1971 President Julius Nyerere Tanzania
1972 Prime Minister Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Mauritius
1973 President Mobutu Sese Seko Zaire
1974 President Josip Broz Tito SFR Yugoslavia
Prime Minister Sirimavo Ratwatte Dias Bandaranaike Sri Lanka
1975 President Kenneth Kaunda Zambia
1976 Prime Minister Jacques Chirac France
1977 First Secretary Edward Gierek Poland
1978 President Patrick Hillery Ireland
1979 Prime Minister Malcolm Fraser Australia
1980 President Valéry Giscard d’Estaing France
1981 President José López Portillo Mexico
1982 King Juan Carlos I Spain
1983 President Shehu Shagari Nigeria
1984 King Jigme Singye Wangchuck Bhutan
1985 President Raúl Alfonsín Argentina
1986 Prime Minister Andreas Papandreou Greece
1987 President Alan García Peru
1988 President Junius Jayewardene Sri Lanka
1989 General Secretary Nguyen Van Linh Viet Nam
1990 Prime Minister Anerood Jugnauth Mauritius
1991 President Maumoon Abdul Gayoom Maldives
1992 President Mário Soares Portugal
1993 Prime Minister John Major United Kingdom
1994 Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong Singapore
1995 President Nelson Mandela South Africa
1996 President Dr. Fernando Henrique Cardoso Brazil
1997 Prime Minister Basdeo Panday Trinidad and Tobago
1998 President Jacques Chirac France
1999 King Birendra Bir Bikram Shah Dev Nepal
2000 President Olusegun Obasanjo Nigeria
2001 President Abdelaziz Bouteflika Algeria
2002 President Cassam Uteem Mauritius
2003 President Mohammed Khatami Iran
2004 President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva Brazil
2005 King Jigme Singye Wangchuck Bhutan
2006 King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Saud[ Saudi Arabia
2007 President Vladimir Putin Russia
2008 President Nicolas Sarkozy France
2009 President Nursultan Nazarbayev Kazakhstan
2010 President Lee Myung Bak Republic of Korea
2011 President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono Indonesia
2012 Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra Thailand
2013 King of Bhutan Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck Bhutan
2014 Prime Minister Shinzo Abe Japan
2015 President Barack Obama United States
2016 President François Hollande France
2017 Crown Prince Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed United Arab Emirates
2018 Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah

Joko Widodo

Thongloun Sisoulith

Prime Minister Hun Sen

Najib Razak

President Htin Kyaw

Rodrigo Roa Duterte

Halimah Yacob

Prayuth Chan-ocha

Nguyễn Xuân Phúc











2019 President Cyril Ramaphosa South Africa
2020 President Jair Bolsonaro Brazil
2021 Prime Minister Boris Johnson United Kingdom

The most important intention of encouraging a Foreign Leader would be to enhance the bilateral relations and to demonstrate the prosperity and diversity of the Indian civilization.  To see more articles about the topic, Click the links provided below;
internal article links